MY WISH

image
Baby Harry

What a perfect time to wish myself a happy new year! I still can’t figure out how 365 days has passed me by like a dream, and here I am today, a whole year older than I was yesterday!

Let me not bore you with all the nitty-gritty about who I am but for the sake of those deficient on who I really am, read the next two chapters.

My name is Harry Bekoe A.k.a Harry Beks originating from a valley sited neck of the woods called Santrokofi in the Volta Region of Ghana. I am blessed to be a student nurse and an ardent positive change activist.

I believe my mission is to live with integrity and to make a difference in the lives of others. I represent many things but one is paramount and that can be summed in Strive Masiyiwa’s statement “Go where the need is greatest and help the smallest”. 
The article in the link below defines me very well  pertaining to, my origin, family, educational hassles  etc. Read before continuing.
http://www.aroundtheworldl.com/2010/03/01/harrys-article-school-far-from-family/

image
2005 when life was yet to start.

I won’t say I’ve had a tough life persay, but I have endured what my strength could afford me and that which I couldn’t stand , isn’t part of my story.
VIEWS ABOUT LIFE
I always tell myself, life is like a big cake and we are all here to take a bite. We don’t own the cake (life) but we’re allowed to share it with others who lack the basics that make life worthwhile.

image
Mum in the middle. 2012

I want to agree today with Dr. Seuss and say “I am what I am. That’s a great thing to be. If I say to myself, “Happy Birthday to me!” it means a great deal to me!
My first wish is to meet that special ‘somebody’ that when I ever become unreasonable, illogical and self-centered, she will be there to protect me from myself. I understand these are natural tendencies and we all stand the risk. No need to behave like a super human.
My second and last wish is to meet more positive-minded individuals who are passionate about what they are up to in life. What else could be more fulfilling than that?

image
The traditional way. Dad and sis

I recently had a dialogue with a fine gentleman and this is what he had to tell me as we drew closer in our chitchat. “In life, its either we maximize our income to meet our dreams, or shrink our dreams to meet our income”. What an eye opener this statement is!

MY FIVE GREATEST LESSONS

Below are five straitjacket truths I’ve discovered and stand to defend as simple facts.

1. The secret to happiness is the acceptance of yourself.
Nothing else can make a person more happier than himself.

2. Forgive those that are yet to do you wrong, and you won’t have to worry about it should the time come. Anybody at all can be disappointing, prepare for it.
3.  You have to be your own best friend. In this case you always have your best friend with you. We all know best what we expect from a friendship and we can give ourselves that.

4. The truth shall indeed set you free. Lies can save you for the now but will destroy you permanently later. Run for the truth.

5. Live your life or die.
This is probably my favourite.
Live your life or die

image
Me now!

For the next one year, I’m looking forward to living this same truths and also discovering more.

Thanks for reading.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nanart says:

    Great piece. You’re a Gem

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wow! Very inspiring bro
    Your mission keeps rejuvenating every single thought of my day. Keep the good work going.
    You’re poised for greatness!

    Like

  3. Kerry atitsogbui says:

    waaaaoooo nice one very powerful I really love it

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    waaaaoooo nice one very powerful I really love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

